Three interesting colleagues I met during the Andela Bootcamp

Three interesting colleagues I met during the Andela Bootcamp

·

5 min read

Three interesting colleagues I met during the Andela Bootcamp

What is there to write? That was my first thought when I saw this title. I mean; we have been so engrossed in trying to solve our daily challenges and implementing feedback from our LFAs(Learning Facilitators) that we are left with little or no time to socialize or talk outside the context of collaborating to solve our challenges. However, on careful thought, it turns out our subconscious takes note of stuff even we are not aware of, and it’s amazing what I realized I have learnt about my colleagues without knowing. I will be writing about three of them.

Image for post

Image for post

Olanmilekan Ibrahim

Olanmilekan Ibrahim is smart, with a sense of playfulness that radiates from his smile. I have seen very few people who are as coolheaded as he is even in the face of challenges that are obviously daunting, and the calm with which he handles these challenges make them seem like “piece of cake”. He obviously knows more than he lets on, I think he’s just trying to be modest and that is a good thing because I have seen few personality disasters that are worse than an arrogant developer. He’s definitely fun to be with.

Image for post

Image for post

Emmanuel Seun Faluyi

Emmanuel Seun Faluyi reminds me of “Clark Kent” a character in the American television series (Smallville). At first, it would seem that their resemblance is based on the fact that they both wear glasses but there’s more. Clark Kent worked for a newspaper agency as a researcher. This was just a cover for who he really was — a superhero. Seun like Clark is smart but doesn’t like to show it. I find it hard keeping track of how many times he has come to my rescue in the cause of solving challenges. He’s ever listening, ever learning and ever helping as far as my knowledge of him goes and he is fun to work with. His drive for learning and solving challenges are two things that make him such an interesting person to watch for me and I would have loved to nickname him the “Clark Kent of Codeville”.

Image for post

Image for post

Maureen Oki

Maureen Oki is the one I find most intriguing of all my colleagues. When you meet very few female developers and so many of them who run away from not just coding but hard mental-work, it’s amazing to meet one who doesn’t just code but is passionate about coding. Looking at the way she is engrossed in her work lets you know it’s not just about completing a task but also about something deeper, a hunger to create something beautiful. She carries herself in a manner that makes it appear like she’s shy but nope! I don’t think she is. Outspoken but not loud, intelligent and well calculated are words I will use to describe what I see when I look at her.

It’s a wonderful to be able to write about my colleagues. I have known them for less than 4 days and yet I feel like their impact has a weight of weeks of learning. I really don’t believe I have done them justice with this post, and I wonder what they have to say about me but I’m glad I met them.